Gold from Queensland.


Tried to get away for a dig on Sunday morning, but the weather was not cooperating. The rain just got heavier and heavier. Made it as far as “Wild Horse Mountain” and breakfast at “Hungry Jacks” before to deciding to call it quits.
Monday was fine weather, but my digging buddy was unavailable. Public holiday spent relaxing, is better than nothing.
Rained again on Monday night….. got to job site Tuesday morning and…. flooded. I was heartbroken.
Heartbroken might be a little bit strong of a word…..
I threw the gear into the vehicle…. and disappeared in a cloud of dust. Spent a hour waiting for an accident to clear on the highway, but soon enough, I was there. This is my inspiration for the post title. Shape of Queensland.

20160503_131350
Rain helps with gold fossicking in so many ways…. it provides water to work the material. It makes the ground soft, I want to say that again…. soft. It’s so much easier than hard as concrete, ground. Anyone who has dug the ground at Warwick will know exactly what I mean. And it keeps the dust down.
Less than five hours gave me a nice little pile of gold pieces.

20160503_173434

Safely home again. Till next time. Bye.

 

About ivoradventures

Lives Brisbane north. Age 47. Male. Interests-heaps of stuff. Camping, fishing, and gold panning, keeps me quite busy. I still find time to cook,and spend time family and friends. I truly enjoy my daughters company(Shannon), but don't see enough of her since she moved out. There is a certain type of beauty that exists only in the wild places, and it calls to you. Go and explore! And drag someone with you.
This entry was posted in get away, gold, gold fossicking, gold panning, the lost Irishman mine, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gold from Queensland.

  1. Pleased to see you doing so well but I know from experience it is not easy going. Back of Warwick was the first place back around 1976 after we had come back from a stint in Darwin to try fossicking for gold with the young boys of ours. Unfortunately the trip didn’t last long as the youngest son with bitten by an insect that he was allergic to (probably a bee). The journey ended at the Warwick Hospital but it all turned out OK in the end.
    Did a trip with the family one year out to Glendon and did an article on it in the Gold Gem and Treasure Magazine and the owners later contacted me and thanked me for advertising their property as they got more people interested in coming. I did not expect it but if I came out again we could stay free.
    Keep up the interesting articles which I look forward to as my son hasn’t been able to take me metal detecting or gold fossicking because of his illness. Never mind one can be happy on past memories.
    Best wishes
    Trevor Percival (the young old fella)

  2. Always glad to hear from you Trevor.

Leave a Reply

