Weekend Break.


I met up with a group of people on Friday, some friends, some members of the prospecting club, others I hadn’t met before. Our group at the camp ground numbered twelve, with another only staying for Saturday.

One of the new members asked me to take him up to see the chimney, we piled into the ute and headed off.

Friday night was full of laughter, drinks flowed, music played long into the night, I made my infamous Prawn, mussel and cream dish, with dipping baguettes. That didn’t last long and another couple made a peri-peri chicken dish, which was soon devoured as well, about 10.30 pm, we party animals went to bed. I know it’s not that late, but everyone operates on different time when camping.

Saturday morning I awoke, stretched like a cat, and continued to lay in bed for a half hour or so, just soaking up the holiday feel. The mornings and nights were cool, the wind from the night before was gone. I got up, made a fire, made bread dough, cooked that, had a cuppa, and was ready to go digging for some gold in the creek by six in the morning.

I set my sluice up in the creek and ran dirt for a couple of hours. The water kept under mining the slick plate on the sluice, causing a loss of water flow, bring my gold mining operation to a halt. By 10.30 I’d had enough, time to have a go at something else. I packed my stuff into the ute, and headed for the Prophet Mine.

At least the gold was turning up at the Prophet, I got a few good pieces in three hours, then back to the camp ground, for a relax. By relax, I mean lay down and have a nap. Everybody was feeling the same way after Friday night, SLUGGISH. Must have been something we ate.

Sluggish Saturday continued through the camp over diner, which was brilliant as usual. I think we disappointed our hosts, when we all declared it a night  and headed for bed. We could hear Ralph and John playing into the night as we fell asleep.

Sunday morning early, just before dawn, rain began to fall lightly. At first light, the rain had turned into a down pour with lightning flashing and thunder roaring. Nice to be warm and dry in bed. Oh, I’ve got to go to the toilet, typical.  Always happens. Cold and wet now, back into bed, trying to warm up again. The storm lasted another hour or so, then suddenly it’s gone. Leaving everything clean, always looking greener.

Camp ground, Kilkivan.

The Queensland Prospecting Club members camp site, “The Horseshoe”, at Kilkivan Bush Camping. With most of the members of the group heading off today, a big cook up of left over bacon was on the cards.  Bacon, eggs, sausages, potato cakes and left over lamb chops, rounded out what was a very unhealthy breakfast. Tasted good and was nearly all eaten.

A quick discussion about what every one wanted to do, had us split into two groups. Most of us would explore further up the creek looking for new spots to dig for gold. The other group would come to see where we would be, then go do their own thing and come back to meet us later.

The exploration started with myself going up a hill on one side of the creek and Axeman going up the hill on the other side of the creek. Old gold mines and workings were found in both directions. With exposed bedrock in the creek, old gold mines on the hills on both sides, it looked a promising site.

I creviced for about eight specks of gold, everyone else found some colour as well. Early in the afternoon every body headed back to camp to pack up equipment that had been wet in the morning. Arrangements were made to meet again, and every one said their good-byes, and headed off.

About ivoradventures

Lives Brisbane north. Age 47. Male. Interests-heaps of stuff. Camping, fishing, and gold panning, keeps me quite busy. I still find time to cook,and spend time family and friends. I truly enjoy my daughters company(Shannon), but don't see enough of her since she moved out. There is a certain type of beauty that exists only in the wild places, and it calls to you. Go and explore! And drag someone with you.
This entry was posted in adventure, camping, camping site, day trip/adventure/something to do, do anything, exlpore, get away, go bush, gold, gold crevasse, gold fossicking, gold mine, gold mines, gold panning, goldmining, nature, panning, photography, travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weekend Break.

  1. Useful information. Lucky me I discovered your web site accidentally, and I am stunned why this accident did not came about earlier! I bookmarked it.

Leave a Reply

