Lost Gold Mine-Kilkivan Gold Field.


This weekend I travelled to the Kilkivan Gold field again, the area produces, no need to go anywhere else. After a couple of good days sluicing dirt in the creek, I was finding it hard to get motivated, to get that drive up to dig another hole.

So let’s go for a walk instead. There’s lots of old mining history in the area, I’ve often come across old abandoned mines in South-east Queensland. I know there are some up on the hill beside me, let’s go have a look for some of them.

I can not stress enough, the need to be part mountain goat, part camel. The goat to get up there, the camel, to keep your thirst under control.That hill was over 45 degrees in angle.

Black boys, on the steep hill.

After doing the mountain goat thing, I reached the top of the hill. In between catching my breath, I snapped a few pictures. Exploring the top of the hill ,I found nothing that would look like a mine working. Just lots of smoke filled vistas.

On top of Goat Mountain.

Right, well there is nothing up here, time to head back down. Strange things happen when your walking down hill. Sometimes it feels like you could literally fly down the hill, and suddenly you come to a cliff that wasn’t there on the way up the hill.

Gold Mine entrance.

Hidden among the trees, out of sight. My research names this mine, Unnamed 260115, abandoned gold mine. Right beside this tunnel,are two gullies that have been worked over, and then the next gully has the start of another mine tunnel.

Rock from mine used to separate two claims.

The first tunnel 2m x2m x3m deep.

More rock walls between claims.

The second tunnel entrance.

Continuing down the hill I paused to look back, trying to fix the location in my mind, pretty sure I won’t recognize the spot again unless I search very hard.

Waste rock caught in the trees.

Wondering if it would be worth trying to go over the discarded tailings  Another time perhaps, when it’s cooler.

About ivoradventures

Lives Brisbane north. Age 47. Male. Interests-heaps of stuff. Camping, fishing, and gold panning, keeps me quite busy. I still find time to cook,and spend time family and friends. I truly enjoy my daughters company(Shannon), but don't see enough of her since she moved out. There is a certain type of beauty that exists only in the wild places, and it calls to you. Go and explore! And drag someone with you.
This entry was posted in adventure, day trip/adventure/something to do, do anything, exlpore, get away, go bush, gold, gold fossicking, gold mine, gold mines, gold panning, goldmining, history, lost gold mine, nature, panning, photography, the lost Irishman mine, the most stupid things I've done, travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lost Gold Mine-Kilkivan Gold Field.

  1. Tom Spillane says:

    i would love to go looking for old mines if u ever want any company…tom 0422064948

Leave a Reply

