Queensland Gold.


As I went to work on Thursday, it was with a sense of anticipation, as I had been arranging a prospecting trip with club members. Since I’ve become active in the club, I’ve met so many nice people, it’s just ridiculous.

Finishing work , I packed the truck and hit the highway, arriving just before dark. After a quick round of hello’s, it was time to set up camp, all done in the gathering darkness. After diner with a couple of club members and the camp ground manager ( and a couple of frosty beverages ), it was into bed for an early start.

Friday saw us round up a few more stray club members, making a total of five. Each club member has an on line name they use on the forum, a handle, if you like. My daughter, Shannon thinks we sound like some sort of super hero group of crime fighters. Let’s try it out: countvondevlin, axeman, rocket1100, elrodeo, panned, razio, and gcause. I kind of see it… but the only crime we would be saving anyone from, might be under-age drinking, cause if there’s a stray beer or premixed spirit anywhere is sight, we’re all over it.

Everybody happily picked a spot in the creek, to set up, very concious of where each member was, and trying not to upset or impose on someone else ( I told you,ridiculously nice people.)

My Friday was fantastic, beautiful pieces of gold appeared in my sluice, all day long. Some of the members did better than others, I wont mention any names. But someone threw a nugget out of their pan and lost it in the middle of the creek. Sure, that was bad luck…but the jokes flew fast and often… “Throwing the little ones back…”, along those lines.

Sluiced gold

This was my first clean out for Friday, nice chunky pieces of gold. The second clean out was almost as good.

Gold in the sluice.

That black rubber mat, shows gold like you put a spotlight on it. Holds it in place like super-glue. Saturday morning saw a couple more club members arrive at the creek, it was just like Friday and Saturday had merged into the one day. A new arrival produced a yabby pump and commenced to suck gravel from the creek bed. The first pan of gravel he washed, had as much gold in it as I had found the day before. Luck comes to everybody, one person at a time.

Hi-banker in action.

My excavation, “Lost Irishman No.2”

My excavation for the weekend took me below water level. I had to engineer a small dam to keep the water levels at bay, a lot of bailing  was required. I had made it onto the bedrock, onto a large vein of Quartz, with an underground spring emptying into the bottom of my hole, it was time to abandon the “Lost Irishman No.2 shaft”, and do anything else.

The gold luck did it’s rounds, getting to everybody eventually.  As usual a last picture of my findings for the weekend. Get out there, and live a little.

“In Gold we trust”

About ivoradventures

Lives Brisbane north. Age 47. Male. Interests-heaps of stuff. Camping, fishing, and gold panning, keeps me quite busy. I still find time to cook,and spend time family and friends. I truly enjoy my daughters company(Shannon), but don't see enough of her since she moved out. There is a certain type of beauty that exists only in the wild places, and it calls to you. Go and explore! And drag someone with you.
This entry was posted in adventure, camping, day trip/adventure/something to do, do anything, exlpore, get away, go bush, gold, gold fossicking, gold mine, gold mines, gold panning, goldmining, panning, the lost Irishman mine, travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

