Sluicing Gold


Last weekend I met up with Paul, a fellow gold fossicker. I’d arranged to show him a spot on the creek I’d been working. We met at the caravan park, and headed off to the creek.

After showing Paul where I was going to work, he picked a spot down stream from me, in a rocky part of the creek, with some bedrock coming up out of the stream and up the bank.

I tried to keep the water out of my boots for about two hours before giving up. You’ve just got to get in there, water and all.

Working “The Lost Irishman Mine”

Paul kept distracting me with yells of joy, as he found gold in his pan time and again. I had to keep going over to see what he was yelling about( the way he was yelling, you’d have thought each pan contained “The Welcome Stranger”).

Gold & Ghosts map

The area we were working is shown on the above map, West Coast Creek. The dots represent alluvial gold deposits, covering the old creek bed, between the north and south hills. Old mine tunnels and workings are shown as well.

gold from “The Lost Irishman Mine”

After about six hours, I’d had enough. The photo above shows what came out of the sl

The Welcome Stranger Nugget, just for reference.

uice.

About ivoradventures

Lives Brisbane north. Age 47. Male. Interests-heaps of stuff. Camping, fishing, and gold panning, keeps me quite busy. I still find time to cook,and spend time family and friends. I truly enjoy my daughters company(Shannon), but don't see enough of her since she moved out. There is a certain type of beauty that exists only in the wild places, and it calls to you. Go and explore! And drag someone with you.
This entry was posted in day trip/adventure/something to do, do anything, exlpore, get away, go bush, gold, gold crevasse, gold fossicking, gold mine, gold mines, gold panning, goldmining, history, lost gold mine, panning, the lost Irishman mine and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sluicing Gold

  1. vitamin a says:

    Hello there, just became alerted to your blog through Google, and found that it is very informative. I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future. Lots of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  2. I found something like this elsewhere and really found it entertaining. Some more of this please! Thanks very much

Leave a Reply

