Helping Hand “L” Plates Gold Mining


Hello to all. After my last post, I had a short discussion with someone who had read my blog, and left a comment, ( feedback is always good, at least you know someone was reading your blog, and paying attention ). So after a gentle kick in the ass… I took some action, probably not the sort I should have taken, but anyway some action was taken.

After a short struggle with forgotten passwords and vague references to totally forgotten user names, I managed to get onto “Queensland Gold Prospectors Club Forum”.

A random  click of a tab, put me on the new members introduction page. Scanning the list, my eye was drawn to a post titled “Nice Drive”, by “Mark”. Being the optimist I am, I think a story about some ones trip to a gold field. Should be interesting. How do I describe the shock, when I find out, it’s all about a first time gold panner, who has tried and failed, not through being in the wrong place, but by not knowing what he was doing!!!!

Perfect opportunity to redeem one self. So I volunteer to help out ( yeah me ).  All arrangements are made for the end of the week, location, time, what to bring, so on.

Mark first time panning

Friday morning rolled around, meet up with Mark, off to the creek, to work the sluice for the day.  Unfortunately only three specks turned up in the sluice, despite moving a lot of material through it.

panning for gold

Saturday took us to the “Prophet Mine”. Some gold was won in the morning, but it soon petered out. Sometimes the stories you hear , are believable, I know what he does, I’ve spoken to his son about it, and his son has told me he doesn’t know why he does it…but he continues to do the same stuff!!!

We began to get lubricated for the camp oven diner, at the camp grounds. “Kilkivan Bush Camping” does the best camp fire cooked meal, anywhere. Even the locals are starting to go to the diner nights, for a night out. A few drinks helps to keep the cold out, and the laugher going.

Matty, on the left. John, middle. Ivor, on the right.

Saturday night saw 70+ for diner. Not a bad effort, for a meal cooked on the camp fire. After diner the manager,  Ralph played his guitar for the dinners.

Sunday morning saw everyone break camp, and head their own ways.

Until next time, good luck.

About ivoradventures

Lives Brisbane north. Age 47. Male. Interests-heaps of stuff. Camping, fishing, and gold panning, keeps me quite busy. I still find time to cook,and spend time family and friends. I truly enjoy my daughters company(Shannon), but don't see enough of her since she moved out. There is a certain type of beauty that exists only in the wild places, and it calls to you. Go and explore! And drag someone with you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

